Andrzej Seweryn

Andrzej Seweryn


Actor, director, and pedagogue. Born on April 25, 1946 in Heilbronn, Germany. Graduated from the State Academy of Theatre in Warsaw and had his stage debut in 1968 in Warsaw’s Ateneum Theater. From 1968 to 1980 actor in Ateneum Theatre in Warsaw. In the late 70’s left for France, where he acted at the Odeon and Clurilltit Theaters in Paris and the TNP in Lyons, and became a star and the board member of the prestigious Comedie Francaise in Paris as well as Professor in the School of Drama. In the Comedie Francaise he played Monsieur Jourdain in The Bourgeois Gentleman by Moliere, President in Kabale und Liebe by Schiller, the eponymous Don Juan by Moliere, Shylock in The Merchant of Venice, or Eugene O’Neill in the Embrasser les hombres by Lars Noren. His first big film role was in Album Polski dir. Jan Rybkowski (1970). He has appeared in over 40 films and 30 stage productions. He has worked with A. Wajda, A. Zulawski, S. Spielberg and A. Holland.

Since 1993, he has been based in the Comedie Francaise. He owes to Andrzej Wajda his further career in the movies, starting with The Promised Land (1974), through Rough Treatment (1978), The Conductor (1979), Man of him (1981), Dtiiitfjii (1982). At the end of the 90’s, he played Seddn in Wajda’s Pan Tadeusz (1999) and Rejent in the Polish comic masterpiece Vengeance. In the filmed national epic With Fire and Sword dir. Jerzy Hoffman (1999), he played Prince Jeremi Wisniowiecki and Primate Stefan Wyszynski in The Primate dir. Teresa Kotlarczyk (2000), which won him the Actors’ Award at the Polish Feature Film Festival in Gdansk. He also starred in the series The Mahabharata dir. Peter Brook (1989) and in Indochina dir. Regis Wargnier, which won an Oscar for the Best Foreign Language Film in 1992. At present, he is a lecturer at the Paris Conservatoire, a member-societaire of the Comedie Francaise ensemble. In 1996, he was named the Best Theater Actor of France, a distinction awarded by the French Union of Theater and Music Critics. On Polish TV, he directed Tamiffe by Moliere with Michal Zebrowski in the leading role, and also Antigone by Sophocles. He directed several performances in the Comedie Francaise, of which The Twelfth Night by Shakespeare was the latest. He directed Michal Zebrowski again in Richard 11 by Shakespeare at the Teatr Narodowy in 2004. In June 2005, by the decree of the French President, Andrzej Seweryn was accorded the Legion of Honor order. Who Never Lived is his directorial feature film debut.

Recipient of prestigious awards including French Order of Fine Arts and Humanities (1994), the Witkacy Award of International Theatre Institute (1996), Award of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Poland (1997) and French Orde National du Merite (1999). Among his film awards are: Silver Bear at the Berlin International Film Festival for his role in The Orchestra Conductor dir. Andrzej Wajda (1980), Special Award of the Chairman of Polish TV at the Polish Film Festival in Gdynia for his role in The Cardinal, Three Years of the Thousand (2000), Wings Award for life achievement in the art of film at the Polish Film Festival in America – Chicago (2000). At the 2012 Santo Domingo Internationa Film Festival was awarded Best Actor Award for his role in Little Rose.

For his role in Last Family (Ostatnia rodzina) was awarded Best Actor Awawrd at the 2016 Locarno International Film Festival, 2016 Gdynia Film Festival and 2017 Polish Films’ Award “Orly.”


2015 Solid Gold by Jacek Bromski
2016 The Last Family (Ostatnia rodzina) by Jan P. Matuszynski
2015 Anatomy of Evil (Anatomia zła)
2014 Close-Ups (Zbliżenia) by Magdalena Piekorz
2013 The Vulture (Sęp) by Eugeniusz Korin
2011 Entanglement (Uwikłanie) by Jacek Bromski
2010 Little Rose (Różyczka) by Jan Kidawa-Blonski
2009 Les précieuses ridicule by Vincent Bataillon
2008 Possibility of an Island (La possibilite d’une ile) by Michel Houellebecq
2007 L’age de l’amour by Olivier Lorelle
2007 Nightwatching by Peter Greenaway
2006 Who never Lived (Kto nigdy nie żyl) by Andrzej Seweryn
2003 A ton image by Aruna Villiers
2003 Par amour by Alain Tasma
2002 The Revenge (Zemsta) by Andrzej Wajda
2000 The Cardinal (Prymas – trzy lata z tysiąca) by Teresa Kotlarczyk
1999 With Fire nd Sword (Ogniem i mieczem) by Jerzy Hoffman
1998 Billboard by Lukasz Zadrzynski
1996 Genealogies of a Crime (Genealogies d’un Crime) by Raoul Ruiz
1996 Jungle (Gąszcz)  by Malgorzata Burzynska
1996 Lucie Aubrac by Claude Berri
1995 Total Eclipse (Całkowite zaćmienie)
1995 Les Fils du Cordonnier by Herve Basle
1994 Trip to the East (Podróż na wschód) by Stefan Chazbijewicz
1993 Schindler’s List by Steven Spielberg
1992 Amok by  Joel Farges
1992 Indochina by Regis Wargnier
1990 La Condanna by Marco Bellocchio
1989 The French Revolution (La Revolution Francaise) by Robert Enrico & Richard T. Heffron
1989 The Mahabharata by Peter Brook
1986 Qui Trop Embrasse by Jacques Davila
1986 The Malady of Love (La Coda del Diavolo) by Giorgio Treves
1986 The Woman of My Life (La Femme de Ma Vie) by Regis Wargnier
1984 Haute Mer by Edgardo Cozarinsky
1983 Marynia by Jan Rybkowski
1982 Danton by Andrzej Wajda
1982 Rosa (Róża) by Hristoforos Hristofis
1981 Man of Iron (Czlowiek z żelaza) by Andrzej Wajda
1981 The Childish Questions (Dziecinne pytania) by Janusz Zaorski
1980 The Orchestra Conductor (Dyrygent) by Andrzej Wajda
– Silver Berlin Bear for Best Actor at the Berlin IFF ’80
1979 Golem by Piotr Szulkin
1979 Kung-Fu by Jan Kijowski
1979 Manchmal Besucht Der Neffe Die Tante by Michal Ratynski
1978 Without Anesthesia (Bez znieczulenia) by Andrzej Wajda
1978 The Polaniecki Family (Rodzina Połanieckich) by Jan Rybkowski
1978 The Border (Granica) by Jan Rybkowski
1978 Roman and Magda (Roman i Magda) by Sylwester Checinski
1976 On Silver Globe (Na srebrnym globie) by Andrzej Zulawski
1975 Nights and Days (Noce i dnie) by Jerzy Antczak
1975 Trees Lost Their Leaves (Opadły liście z drzew) by Stanislaw Rozewicz
1974 The Promised Land (Ziemia obiecana) by Andrzej Wajda
1970 The Polish Album (Album Polski) by Jan Rybkowski
1964 Beata by Anna Sokolowska