Tom Bower

Tom Bower
An American actor who has appeared in 155 a wide variety of television and film roles. Tom was the Lifelong Achievement Honoree and was awarded “The Sophia” by the 2011 Syracuse International Film Festival. Tom won the “Best Actor” award at the Hollywood Film Festival-2012 for a short entitled “A Good Thing“.

He worked with Polish director Jerzy Skolimowski on THE LIGHTSHIP.

In 1981, Tom was invited by Robert Redford to be a resource actor at the Sundance Institute for film and television. He has remained active in the Institute since that time, and has served as a member of the Nominating Committee. He has also served on the National Board of Directors of Screen Actors’ Guild; was the architect of Global Rule One and created the SAG Indie Outreach Program.

Also, a veteran of the stage. Tom has appeared in more than 80 theatrical productions across the United States, including a recent production of Harold Pinter’s “No Man’s Land” and “The Caretaker”, for which the production received the “Best Revival” and “Best Ensemble” award from LAWEEKLY.

He was also one of the founding members of The Boston Repertory Theatre Company; he has served on the Murray Mednick, which was staged at The MET Theatre. At least ten of the productions that Tom produced was at The MET Theatre Board of Directors for Theatre West, The Back Alley Theatre and The Fountain Theatre. In a period spaning some 40 years he has produced more than 25 plays, including the world premiere of John Patrick Shanley’s

Murray Mednick, which was staged at The MET Theatre. At least ten of the productions that Tom produced was at The MET Theatre.

Tom served on the various committees at The Screen Actors’ Guild; as Co-Chair of the Rule One Committee and Chair of the Indie Outreach Program and is actively serving on the Communications; Global Rule One; Low Budget and Agent Relations Committees. Tom was also on the Advisory Board of the Minnesota Film Board and Chief Creative Officer for New Deal Pictures in Denver, Colorado.

He is currently, and has been for nine years; the President of the Jury; and President of the Honorary Advisory Board, for the Syracuse International Film Festival. He is on the Honorary Advisory Committee of the Denver International Film Festival, and the Wild Rose International Film Festival in Des Moines, Iowa.


2012 Out of the Furnance by Scott Cooper
2011 I Melt with You by Mark Pellington
2009 Crazy Heart by Scott Cooper
2008 Appaloosa by Ed Harris
Gospel Hill by Giancarlo Espositi
2007 Pain Within by Rawn Hutchinson
2006 Feel by Matt Mahuri
Undoing by Chris Chan Lee
Valley of the Heart’s Delight by Tim Boxell
2005 North Country by Niki Caro
The Amateurs by Michael Traeger
2004 Human Error by Robert M. Young
2002 The Badge by Robby Henson
High Crimes by Carl Franklin
2001 Hearts in Atlantis by Scott Hicks
Going Greek by Justin Zackham
2000 Pollock by Ed Harris
The Million Dollar Hotel
by Wim Wenders
1999 A Slipping-Down Life by Toni Kalem
1996 Follow Me Home by Peter Bratt
1995 Nixon by Olivier Stone
White Man’s Burden by Desmond Nakano
Far From Home: The Adventures of Yellow Dog by Philip Borsos
Georgia by Ulu Grosbadr
1993 Shimmer by John Hanson
1992 Raising Cain by Brian De Palma
1991 Talent for the Game by Robert M. Young
1990 Die Hard 2 by Renny Harlin
1989 True Believer by Joseph Ruben
Wired by Larry Peerce
1988 Split Descision by David Drury
Distant Thunder by Rick Rosenthal
Lady in White by Frank LaLoggia
1986 River’s Edge by Tim Hunter
1985 The Lightship by Jerzy Skolimowski
1984 Wildrose by John Hanson
Massive Retaliation by Thomas A. Cohen
1976 The Commitment by Richard Grand, Louis A. Sheffner